Well, that was predictable…

So, it’s been over a month and a half since I last posted! I knew that was going to happen (what is it they say about best laid plans?).

Not coincidentally, my last post was on 12 September, which was also the day before I moved into my new home. Since moving I’ve been preoccupied by a ramped up job search (and all of the networking/events that come with it), scouring craigslist and freecycle for furniture, arranging to pick up the stuff I’ve bought, and, most of all, hanging out with a new housemate! I love the experience of becoming fast friends with someone, and this is definitely the case with Tina, of Tina Bark Designs. This amazingly creative and talented woman is a jewelry designer by day (check out her shop! Buy something!) and since moving in we’ve been doing tons of cooking together and even embarked on a cleanse (inspired by my other beautiful and amazing friend Katie of Rooted Wellbeing – check out her site too!). I haven’t done much picture-taking of food or recording of recipes, but I’m hoping to get back on the horse soon – I have apple butter, butternut squash and barley risotto with dill and classic spaghetti bolognese all in the line-up.

I’ve been keeping myself busy with lots of events through the Women’s Information Network (WIN)  – an organization for pro-choice, Democratic women in DC. These ladies are amazing! After urging by multiple people, I finally ponied up the $50 annual membership and I’m so glad I did! There are events galore – networking, movie screenings, a clothes/book swap, a book club, and even a trip to a local farm for apple-picking! I even have some lack-luster pictures from the last event that I will post… but be warned that my efforts were half-hearted as I was just too preoccupied enjoying the fresh, non-city air. If there are other women in DC looking for jobs, friends, like-minded amazing women to socialize with and be rejuvenated by, I highly recommend getting on board with WIN.

Overall the theme of the past 6 weeks for me has been the amazing women in my life.

I have always found a huge amount of dissonance between my own experiences and relationships with women and how the media portrays us. The meme of women being competitive, jealous and catty just has never rung true for me (as an adult, anyway – adolescence is a different matter). There is the possibility that I’ve either been inordinately lucky or experienced selection bias with my friends and mentors, but the women in my life are my rocks. I wouldn’t be the person I am today without my mother, aunt, cousins and friends and their love and support is always without grief, judgement or drama. I believe that my experience is actually a lot more common than the media would have us believe and that these relationships are what sustain many (most!) women throughout their lives. This isn’t to say that I don’t have great relationships with men, just that the bond that I have with other women is altogether different and unique and something for which I am overwhelmingly grateful.

So to conclude this re-entry into the blogosphere, I just want to give a shout out to all of the women in my life – old and new  – who bring such joy, love and light to me every day. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

This is what love looks like

Leave a Reply

