Weekend Round-Up

So, after a week of procrastinating, I finally finished the letter of inquiry for the grant that I’m working on for the Public Leadership Education Network. Woohoo! Now I’m rewarding myself with a glass of wine and some blog writing.

Well, this week was was interesting! I was in my first ever earthquake and hurricane! Luckily both were fairly anti-climatic and merely resulted in a 15 minute building evacuation and some downed tree branches, respectively. I spent last night on hurricane Irene watch with my new (and temporary) roommates drinking and hanging out. It was nice until I realized that they, being recent college grads, are closer to my younger brother Nolan’s age than mine. Then I felt old.

I also did a bunch of cooking in preparation for possibly losing power due to the hurricane, which never actually happened. As a result, I have new recipes! You can check them all out at my Food52 profile, and I will feature one in my next blog post.

I’ve decided that on Sundays I’m going to post a Reading Round-Up of the most interesting things I’ve read over the week. This week’s is pretty small because I only thought of this today, but to close out this post, here are my recommended reads!

Reading Round-Up

The Atlantic looks at the very scary growth of student loan debt compared to other household debt. I am definitely a contributor to this alarming trend. Woops. See article

Slate has a gallery of pictures of people smooching. Not high-brow, but completely sweet. See pictures.

Good has done it again with another amazing infographic. This one charts the cost of healthcare over an average woman’s lifespan. This graphic was created in honor of the Department of Health and Human Service’s recent announcement that “the full range of FDA-approved contraception, yearly well-woman visits, support for breast feeding, counseling for sexually transmitted infections, and screening and counseling for domestic violence are essential women’s preventive health services and should be covered by health insurers with no co-pays.” It’s about freaking time, too! For more information, see here.

Lastly, the east coast got a lot of flak last week from Californians making fun of the seemingly extreme reaction to the earthquake. Yet, in Ta-Nehisi Coate’s open thread over at The Atlantic, I learned a lot about east coast infrastructure and how easily an earthquake that barely causes an eye blink in California could topple cities over here. Search for the contributions from ‘peteinbaltimore’ for the full discussion.
.
That’s all for now, stay tuned for a recipe!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

